YouTube is a popular source for hosting multimedia content. Instructors can use private playlists to deliver multimedia content to students in a course without exposing that content to the public.
You can deliver sensitive content to a specific audience through the public domain with different privacy settings.
An unlisted video is different than a private video because you don’t need a YouTube account to watch the video (all you need is the link) and there’s no 50-person sharing limit. You can choose to make any of your uploads an unlisted video in your YouTube Account settings.
An unlisted video is a private video that can only be viewed by people you know or who send you the video's link.
Unlisted videos do not appear in any of YouTube's public spaces (such as search results, your channel, or the Browse page).
You don't need a YouTube account to watch an unlisted video (you can see it if someone sends you the video's link), but there's no 25-person sharing limit, so people won't be able to watch your unlisted videos unless they know where to find them.
YouTube offers three video settings: public, private, and unlisted. A public video can be viewed by anyone and will appear in regular searches.
Meanwhile, a private video can only be viewed by people you have specifically invited to access the video.
Unlike public videos, these videos will not appear in searches or subscriber feeds. Lastly, if you need to view an unlisted YouTube video is the video's URL.
If you have a YouTube channel and a website, there are times when you want to embed an email campaign or video on your website without having the video appear in search results or subscribers' channels.
If you unlist the video, you can still embed it on your website while preventing it from appearing in search results or subscribers' channels.
Unlisting videos on a video site can help test different versions of the same video. For example, your marketing team is running an A/B test for an upcoming campaign.
If you're unsure which will perform best with your target audience, you can unlist all the different versions of that video to share them with a focus group and see how they react.
Once you decide which version of the unlisted video is best for your business, you can make it public so it can appear in search results and be more promotable.
A few years ago, your content might not have been the greatest. It got the job done, but now, your content is more refined and sleek.
Instead of deleting older videos, you can unlist them.
This means that people can still access them if they have the URL (such as in a link from an external source), but they won’t appear on your channel’s page.
Unlisting a YouTube video falls somewhere between very open public videos and very controlled private ones; there are many reasons why you might want to unlist a video on your channel page.
Follow these steps to upload all your videos to YouTube to free up storage space on your phone, follow these steps.
Your video will not come up in search results, and your subscribers will not see the video you upload.
To make your video private, follow these steps:
Go to the Videos page in the YouTube Studio (beta) app. If you don’t know how to access it, please follow the abovementioned steps.
After getting into the Videos page, hover your mouse over the desired video and see three dots behind the video.
Tap on it and select Send Shareable Link from the drop-down list.
Unlisted videos and playlists are visible to anyone who has the link. Your unlisted videos won't appear in the Videos tab of your channel homepage. They also won't appear in YouTube's search results unless someone adds your unlisted video to a public playlist.
An unlisted video and private videos are different in 2 ways -
Unlisted videos will not appear on any search engines and can only be viewed if you have the link.
Unlisted videos won't appear to others who visit your channel page and won't appear in YouTube's search results unless someone adds an Unlisted video to a Public playlist. However, they are not Private.
Unlisted videos have a lot of advantages. They could help free up a lot of space and protect your privacy.
In addition, when you do not want to delete older youtube videos or simply want them to be visible to only your family and friends, then youtube unlisted videos are the way to go.