YouTube is by far the biggest video-sharing platform. It offers all features that a video-sharing site should have. But with YouTube being so big, it becomes difficult to handle everything and protect your privacy.
You can make your YouTube channel private and upload your videos accessible only to selected people. This post will guide you through how to do so.
There are many advantages to creating a private YouTube channel. Here are some of the main ones:
A Private YouTube channel is one that you have the right to control. You can make it private, share it with selected people or even delete it.
The main advantage of having a private channel is that you can restrict access to your content. It will prevent others from watching your videos without your permission.
You may want to create a private channel for sharing training videos with teammates or creating an exclusive community for close friends and family members.
If you are too worried about running out of space in your cloud storage, you can upload all your videos to your private YouTube channel.
They will be available only to those who have access to the channel, and no one else will be able to access them unless they have permission from you.
Here are some of the limitations when using YouTube for private video storage:
No option to password protect a video in a Private channel. You can only share private access with other Google accounts.
This means that only people with Google accounts will be able to access your videos.
YouTube has the right to change its policies and terms of service. This means that videos that comply with current policies might be considered in violation of future policies, resulting in removal from YouTube or account suspension.
Another limitation is that only 50 people can access your private video and its content at once. This means that you can’t invite more than 50 people.
They will all receive an email invitation and then have to accept it before being allowed in.
If you already have a YouTube channel, you can switch it to private, but if you don’t, you can also create one from scratch.
Once you have created the new channel, switch accounts.
This will hide your channel and all the content you post on the YouTube channel.
Besides hiding your account, you can also send private videos to selected people.
Your private video is now published. The invite to watch the video is sent to chosen viewers.
They can open their email and check the inbox for invites. If it is not available in the inbox, ask them to check the spam folder.
NOTE: You can share private videos with up to 50 accounts only.
Yes, you can set up a private YouTube channel. It isn’t a private channel per se, but you can hide your account on YouTube when you wish.
Creating a private YouTube channel is free. There are no hidden charges.
Private videos can only be seen by people who have the invitation( up to 50 accounts only). In comparison, unlisted videos can be watched by anyone who has the link for the video.
However, unlisted videos do not appear in search results, recommendations, and feeds. While private videos are private, unlisted videos are invisible.
Public videos appear in search results and feed and can be watched by anyone on the platform. However, private videos are invitation-only. Only viewers with invitations can watch private videos.
Creating a new YouTube channel will largely depend on your preferences. For example, some users like to stay anonymous while sharing their content on YouTube, and that's why they prefer making a private account.
On the other hand, other people love sharing their videos with all users, so they prefer making a public YouTube channel instead.
However, if you want to get more views, likes, and subscribers for your new channel, we suggest registering your channel as "unlisted" at the beginning phase of creating the account.
Remember: YouTube is a free platform to share any way you want!